Medical Marijuana Certification
- Once the physician has examined the patient, he or she can qualify (or “certify”) the patient to be able to purchase medical marijuana. After a patient is certified by a physician, they must complete a medical marijuana ID card application with the Department of Health. When the Department approves the patient’s ID card application, the patient is legally then able to visit any of the state’s dispensaries or call a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center to arrange for delivery.
- The law requires patients to be re-certified each 210 days, and the physician can certify up to a 70-day supply of cannabis at a time at a maximum daily dose that is yet to be determined by the Department of Health.
- Call the Fernandina (904-321-0088) or Jacksonville (904-696-0055) office to schedule an appointment with the certified provider. This is not a Walk-In service and is by appointment only.
- The pricing for the program is $200, (cash or credit card) which includes the visit and certification and does not include the state fee of $75. The $200 fee is not refundable if the patient does not qualify.
- Insurance does not cover any part of this process.
- Recertification cost is $150.
- Proper identification and proof of Florida residency is required.
- Patients must bring in documentation from their treating physician as to the qualifying condition for which they want to receive medication.
- Disclaimer: Be aware that cannabis, including medical cannabis, is still federally illegal, therefore no insurance company has elected to cover cannabis-related treatments. Also, federal rules still apply to driving and it is illegal to drive after using medical marijuana. The law is still emerging, but currently Employers have the right to enforce drug-free policies in the workplace. Similarly, for those who are subject to DOT exams and drug-testing, the DOT does not authorize “medical Marijuana” under a state law to be a valid medical explanation for a transportation employee’s positive drug test result. It remains unacceptable for any safety-sensitive employee.
Qualifying conditions include:
If you have one of the following conditions you may qualify for medical marijuana in Florida. Anxiety, Anorexia, Arthritis, Back Pain, Cachexia (wasting away), Cancer, Chron’s, Cyclical Vomiting Syndrome, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, Hepatitis C, HIV/AIDS, Lyme Disease, Migraine, Muscle Spasm, Muscular Dystrophy, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinsons Disease, PTSD, Severe and Chronic Pain, Severe Nausea, Sickle Cell Anemia, Spasticity, Any terminal condition.
- What Ailments Qualify For Medical Marijuana in Florida
- Patients in Florida diagnosed with one of the following “debilitating medical conditions”, are afforded legal protection under the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, as per Amendment 2:
Conditions which may be eligible for a medical marijuana recommendation include but are not limited to:
- ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Back Pain
- Cerebral Palsy
- Crohn’s Disease
- Degenerative Disc Disorder
- Diabetic Neuropathy
- Hepatitis C
- Herniated Disc
- Irritable Bowel Syndrome (chronic)
- Lyme Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscle Spasms
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Myasthenia Gravis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Peripheral Vascular Disease
- Polymyalgia Rheumatica
- Post-Polio Syndrome
- Psychiatric Conditions
- PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)
- Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- RLS (Restless Legs Syndrome)
- Severe and Chronic Pain
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Spinal Stenosis
- Ulcerative Colitis
How to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient in Florida
- Patients must be at least 18 years of age.
- Patients must be a Florida Resident or a seasonal resident.
- Patients must obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from your primary care or specialty physician describing their diagnosis and bring these records with you to your marijuana evaluation appointment.
- The qualifying patient must be diagnosed, through an in-person examination, by a certified physician as having one of the debilitating medical conditions.
- All patients will be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by the physician who evaluated them.
- Patients (and Caregivers) must then apply for their Registry Identification Card (Medical Marijuana Card).
- Patients can submit their application online or by mail.
- Complete Application & include an approved passport-style photo, proof of residency, $75 Processing (Application) Fee. (Paper Applications: Please make Check or Money Order out to Florida Department Of Health, including your Patient ID Number and Date of Birth).
- Once the application has been approved, a temporary Identification Card will be emailed to the patient as well as a physical Identification card that will be mailed.
- Patients can then fill their order at a licensed Medical Marijuana Treatment Center.
- Patients have to be re-certified every 30 weeks in order to receive a new medical marijuana recommendation. To maintain a valid Medical Marijuana Registry Identification Card, Patients & Caregivers must renew their Identification Card annually. Forty-Five (45) days prior to the card expiration date a renewal application, application fee and required documentation must be submitted.
For More Information:
Florida Department of Health, Office of Medical Marijuana Use
Website: Office Of Medical Marijuana Use